Allergic to wheat?

Wheat is one of the staple foods in humans because it contains the most important nutrients: 60-70% carbohydrates, 2% fat, 11-12% white-off-white and 1.8% minerals. Of all the cereals in the world, wheat is cultivated most frequently. Unfortunately, the plant has been severely manipulated for centuries, which is why many people today develop allergies to certain components of wheat grain.

wheat allergy

If the body is hypersensitive to the wheat protein, ie to the protein of the wheat grain, it is called a wheat allergy. Mostly, such an allergy manifests already in the childhood age. The disease usually manifests itself through the skin and bronchi or the intestine.

gluten intolerance

Unlike wheat allergy, gluten hypersensitivity or gluten intolerance is another condition. The affected persons do not tolerate the gluten contained in several cereals (wheat, rye, barley, oats). Gluten intolerance leads to impaired small bowel function, which manifests itself in the symptoms of weight loss, diarrhea, vomiting, loss of appetite, fatigue or depression. One speaks then of the chronic illness celiac disease.

How can I recognize a wheat allergy?

If you suspect a wheat allergy, it's best to keep a nutrition diary. Put everything you eat in a booklet and describe how it goes after eating. Quickly you will find out whether classic symptoms (indigestion, asthma, eczema, fatigue, lack of concentration) of a wheat allergy occur after eating bread, pasta and Co. A certain diagnosis provides you your way through a skin or blood test.

What should NOT I eat?

If a wheat allergy has been confirmed, you should change your diet immediately. Avoid all products that contain wheat or wheat ingredients. In addition, the following products may contain wheat: -Bread, biscuits, cakes, crispbread, rusks
Pasta, gnocchi, tortellini
Breaded dishes
Finished products such as croquettes or dumplings
-fine sauces, custard powder etc.
Chocolate and chocolate products

What can I eat?

If you have a wheat allergy, you do not have to do without alternative cereals (rye, buckwheat, barley, oats) (as opposed to gluten intolerance). You may also eat flour from rice, corn, chestnuts, soy, etc. Here you will find a wheat-free and gluten-free bread recipe: Gluten-free bread
You do not have to do without pancakes: recipe pancakes without flour